Cullen & Deskford Community Council

Note of Inaugural Meeting held on Monday 19th September 2016

Cullen Memorial Hall

Present: Jane Martin (CCLO), Ian Todd CSU Manager, Esther Bruce, Phil Lovegrove, Dennis Paterson, Tam McLellan, Barry Addison, Iain Grieve

1. <u>Welcome, Apologies and Introductions.</u>

Jane opened the meeting and welcomed newly elected Community Councillors to the first meeting of Cullen & Deskford Community Council. Ian Todd gave a brief outline the Community Support Unit and the Planning for Real Process. Members were informed that Tracey Rae is the Community Support Officer for Cullen area.

2. Community Council Members Handbook

Jane informed members that the handbook is available online at <u>www.moray.gov.uk/communitycouncils</u>. Members can print copies if required; printing costs can be claimed from the administration grant that the CC receives. Jane advised this is a reference guide to support Community Councillors in their role as a Community Councillor during this term of office. Jane went through the handbook with members informing them of sections in the handbook.

3. The Joint Community Councils of Moray and Cycle of Meetings

Jane advised that The Joint Community Councils of Moray (JCC) meet 4 times a year on the second Thursday of February, May, August and November with the next normal meeting being on 12th November 2016. There is an additional meeting on 13th October to with the Police. Esther and Iain agreed to attend

It is a great opportunity to share information and experience with fellow Community Councillors in other areas. Where an issue is Moray-wide the JCC can look to set up a subgroup or host special meetings to address issues.

The JCC is represented on the Community Engagement Group and is a great opportunity to have matters brought to the Forum.

4. Administration Grant

Jane advised that the Moray council provide an annual grant to Community Councils to assist with the operating costs of the Community Council.

The grant is available to cover costs in administering Community Council business and is not to finance other groups. Examples of justified expenditure include auditor fees, production and circulation of minutes, agendas and other documentation, printing of handbook, photocopying, travel costs, telephone costs and general publicity, promotional and ceremonial activities. Further information can be found in Section 2 of the Handbook. Jane advised that the grant was £500 plus 0.0725p per head of population, Cullen & Deskford Community Council's populations is 1880, grant allocation will be £636.30 paid in 2 instalments April and October.

Barry will contact the bank to change details and do up to date accounts.

5. Community Engagement

Discussions were held on involving the community and groups in the area.

6. Dealing with Meeting Business and Cycle of Meetings

Jane informed that the Community Council need to identify a suitable meeting cycle and how this will be communicated to the members, the community, the press and professionals.

The need for a pattern was discussed and agreed and to ensure their meetings don't clash with other Community Council/Association meetings in the Elected Members Ward. Members thought that the **3rd Tuesday of the month**. It was agreed that The Memorial Hall would be the new meeting venue and Tam will book for future meetings.

Jane advised that a Planning contact needed to be identified; this is to ensure that the Planning Department can issue the weekly list and that relevant information is received by the Community Council. Tam agreed to be the planning contact.

The setup of a new generic email was suggested, members agreed and Iain will organise.

Jane informed members of the constitution, it was agreed that members would have a meeting to discuss changes that they may feel necessary and will send Jane the Constitution within the next few weeks.

7. Co-options

CDCC has filled 6 of their 9 seats; therefore have 3 seats available for co-option.

Jane explained the process for co-options.

Stewart Black was then co-opted, nominated by Jain Grieve, seconded by Dennis Paterson.

8. Appointment of Office Bearers

Members proceeded to elect office bearers

Chair- Iain Grieve Vice Chair: Tam McLellan Secretary – Esther Bruce Treasurer – Barry Addison Grieve

Proposed: Dennis Paterson Proposed: Dennis Paterson Proposed: Dennis Paterson Proposed: Tam McLellan Seconded: Barry Addison Seconded: Phil Lovegrove Seconded: Barry Addison Seconded: Iain

Members proceeded to completed the Data release form and information gathering form.

9. <u>AOCB</u>

Jane informed members of training to be held on the Complaints Procedure. Esther and Iain agreed to attend.

10. Date of next meeting

18th October 2016 at the Memorial Hall, The Square, Cullen at 7.00 pm