Minute of Meeting of The City & Royal Burgh of Elgin Community Council

Date: Tuesday 10 October 2017

Time: 7.00 pm

Venue: Moray Council HQ, The Chambers, Elgin

Chair: Jane Martin Community Council Liaison officer (CCLO)

Attendees: Bruce Flett. Alastair Kennedy, Margaret Park, Donnie McLean, Eddie Wallace, Paul Briggs, Iain Catto, Steve Christie, Jeff Gable, Catriona Gray, Aileen Marshall, Bryan Watson, James Wiseman, Cllr Divers, Steven Milne, Gordon Methven (Street Pastor), Hazel Lawson (Northern Scott), Craig Woodall (Stage Coach), PC Jad Leach, PC Kyle Cowie

Apologies: Douglas Clark, Patsy Gowans, Pat Paterson, Mary Wall

1. Welcome, Introductions and Apologies

Jane Martin CCLO welcomed all to the meeting and congratulated members on being elected as Community Councillors to serve their communities.

2. Community Council Induction

JM (CCLO) gave a training/induction presentation to all members. This incorporated, Community Councils in Moray, Scheme and Constitutional documents, Community Councillors Handbook, Core Community Council Business, Members and Office Bearers duties, highlighting key areas that Community Councils and its members should be aware of.

All Members were given copies of the Scheme of Establishment, Model Constitution and the Code of Conduct. The Community Council were issued one hard copy of the handbook and informed that the handbook is available online at http://www.moray.gov.uk/moray_standard/page_105319.html, if members require printed copies, costs can be paid from the Community Council administration grant.

AK will hand the copies to members who are absent.

3. Contact Sharing Authorisation

JM (CCLO) asked all members to complete the Contact Sharing Authorisation form for Data Protection purposes, copies of the completed forms will be emailed to the secretary.

AK will provide absent members with the Authorisation form.

JM (CCLO) to share contact information with all members

4. Administration Grant and population figures

Jane Martin informed members that the annual grant for Elgin Community Council is £2,284.81 for the period April 2017/18. The grant is calculated at £500 plus 0.0725 pence per head of population, the population for the area is 24618.

The annual grant paid is distributed in two parts, April and October; the second grant payment for the period 2017/18 will be paid in October on receipt of examined annual accounts. Outgoing Treasurer SM waiting for them to be examined and will forward when completed

5. Appointment of Office Bearers

Chairperson: Alastair Kennedy **Proposed:** Bryan Watson

Seconded: Aileen Marshal

Vice Chairperson: James Wiseman Proposed: Bryan Watson

Seconded: Iain Catto

Secretary: Patsy Gowans Proposed: Alastair Kennedy

Seconded: Steve Christie

Minute Secretary: James Wiseman Proposed: Aileen Marshall

Seconded: Alastair Kennedy

Treasurer: Steve Christie **Proposed:** Alastair Kennedy

Seconded: Bryan Watson

Planning Contact: James Wiseman **Proposed:** Alastair Kennedy

Seconded: Iain Catto

6. Constitutional Documents

JM suggested that the model constitution should be signed immediately to protect the Community Council; the Community Council can in the future apply for any changes that may be required to Moray Council.

The constitution was signed; JM (CCLO) will deliver to the Deputy Returning Officer, after checking the Constitution will be returned to the Community Council.

JM (CCLO) advised members to bring their copy of Constitutional documents to meetings for reference, particularly the Standing Orders.

The Constitution was adopted and signed; JM will deliver to the Deputy Returning Officer.

7. AOC

Clash Gour Wind farm, Community Ownership Workshop in Moray on the 24th November.

8. Business from previous meetings

Jane Martin closed the inaugural meeting and handed the meeting over to the new chair to start Community Council business.