Minute of inuaugural Meeting Forres Community Council

Date:Thursday, 19 October 2017

Time:7.00 pm

Venue:Forres Town Hall, Forres

Chair: Jane Martin Community Council Liaison officer (CCLO)

Attendees: Lesley Edwards, Eleanor Hayward, Graham Murdoch, David Parker,

Kenny Shand, Gordon Thornton, Micheal Walker

Apologies: Graham Hilditch, Chas Rodger, Alan Tissiman, Cllr Fever, Cllr Alexander, Cllr McLean

1. Welcome, Introductions and Apologies

Jane Martin CCLO welcomed all to the meeting and congratulated members on being elected as Community Councillors to serve their communities.

2. Community Council Induction

JM (CCLO) gave a training/induction presentation to all members. This incorporated, Community Councils in Moray, Scheme and Constitutional documents, Community Councillors Handbook, Core Community Council Business, Members and Office Bearers duties, highlighting key areas that Community Councils and its members should be aware of.

All Members were given copies of the Scheme of Establishment, Model Constitution and the Code of Conduct. The Community Council were issued one hard copy of the handbook and informed that the handbook is available online at http://www.moray.gov.uk/moray_standard/page_105319.html, if members require printed copies, costs can be paid from the Community Council administration grant.

EH will forward to members who were not present.

3. Contact Sharing Authorisation

JM (CCLO) asked all members to complete the Contact Sharing Authorisation form for Data Protection purposes, copies of the completed forms will be emailed to the secretary.

EH will forward to members who were not present and return to JM (CCLO). JM (CCLO) to share contact information with all members

4. Administration Grant and population figures

Jane Martin informed members that the annual grant for Forres Community Council is £1249.5 for the period April 2017/18.

The grant is calculated at £500 plus 0.0725 pence per head of population, the population for the area is 10484.

The annual grant paid is distributed in two parts, April and October; the second grant payment for the period 2017/18 will be paid in October on receipt of examined annual accounts.

GM I nformed members that there have been problems with change of names to the bank account and that he has now made a formal conplaint to deal with this. GM wil forward the account to JM(CCLO).

5. Appointment of Office Bearers

Chairperson: Graham Hillditch **Proposed:** Micheal Walker

Seconded: Eleanor Hayward

Vice Chairperson: Micheal Walker Proposed: Eleanor Hayward

Seconded: Gordon Thornton

Secretary: Eleanor Hayward Proposed: Graham Murdoch

Seconded: Micheal Walker

Treasurer: Graham Murdoch Proposed: Eleanor Hayward

Seconded: Micheal Walker

Planning Contact: Eleanor Hayward **Proposed:** Micheal Walker

Seconded: Graham Murdoch

It was agreed that by all members that GT will assist EH with planning, the list should go to the generic and both personall emails.

6. Constitutional Documents

JM suggested that the model constitution should be signed immediately to protect the Community Council; the Community Council can in the future apply for any changes that may be required to Moray Council.

The constitution was signed; JM (CCLO) will deliver to the Deputy Returning Officer, after checking the Constitution will be returned to the Community Council.

JM (CCLO) advised members to bring their copy of Constitutional documents to meetings for reference, particularly the Standing Orders.

7. AOC

Clash Gour Wind farm, Community Ownership Workshop in Moray on the 24th November.

8. Business from previous meetings

Jane Martin closed the inaugural meeting and handed the meeting over to the new chair to start Community Council business.