THE MORAY COUNCIL

LOCAL GOVERNMENT BY- ELECTION

Thursday 14th February 2008

Electoral Ward No. 7 – Elgin City South

I, Alastair Keddie, the Returning Officer for Electoral Ward No. 7 – Elgin City South hereby give notice that the TOTAL NUMBER OF VOTES GIVEN for each candidate at the by-election was as follows:

Name of Candidate	Description	No. of votes given for the candidate	Excluded at end of Stage No.
James Scott ALLAN	Independent	278	7
Andy ANDERSON	Scottish Senior Citizens Unity Party	37	4
Frank BROWN	Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party	223	6
Mark CASCARINO	Labour Party Candidate	459	8
Gordon DAVIDSON	Independent	1	1
Matthew Coughlan DESMOND	UKIP Scotland	20	3
Martyn HARRIS	Independent	16	2
Peter HORTON	Scottish Liberal Democrats	53	5
John Alexander SHARP	Scottish National Party SNP	884	-
Hamish SIMPSON	Independent	845	9

And that **John Alexander SHARP** has been DULY ELECTED at **Stage 9** to serve as a councillor in the multi-member Ward 7 – Elgin City South.

The number of papers rejected and not counted by me at this by-election was as follows:-

1. Want of Official Mark	
2. On which the figure "1" standing alone indicating a 1st preference is set opposite the name of more than 1 candidate	
3. Writing or mark by which voter could be identified	
4. Unmarked or void for uncertainty	
Total Number Rejected	25
Total Electorate	7886
Total Valid Votes Cast	2112
Percentage Poll	26.8%

Alastair Keddie, Returning Officer, 15 February 2008