School Term Dates and Holidays

Please note: Dates for school holidays are inclusive so, for example, 25 June-21 August, students return on the 22 August.

Download school calendar (PDF)

School calendar: 2017-2018

Autumn
In-service closure: Monday 14 August 2017
Term starts: Tuesday 15 August 2017
Term ends: Friday 6 October 2017
Autumn holidays: Monday 9 October 2017 - Friday 20 October 2017

Winter
Term starts: Monday 23 October 2017
In-service closure: Monday 13 - Tuesday 14 November 2017
Term ends: Friday 22 December 2017
Christmas holidays: Monday 25 December 2017 - Friday 5 January 2018

Spring
Term starts: Monday 8 January 2018
Mid-term holidays: Friday 9 February and Monday 12 February 2018
Spring term ends: Thursday 29 March 2018
Spring holidays: Friday 30 March - Friday 13 April 2018

Summer
Term starts: Monday 16 April 2018
May Day holiday: Monday 7 May 2018
In-service closures: Thursday 17 May and Friday 18 May 2018
Term ends: Friday 29 June 2018
Summer holidays: Monday 2 July - Tuesday 14 August 2018

Plus, one occasional day holiday when the following school groups will be closed:

  • Buckie High School ASG: 11 June 2018
  • Elgin Academy ASG: 8 February 2018
  • Elgin High School ASG: 8 February 2018
  • Forres Academy ASG: 4 May 2018
  • Keith Grammar School ASG: 4 June 2018
  • Lossiemouth High School ASG: 4 May 2018
  • Milne's High School ASG: 4 May 2018
  • Speyside High School ASG: 4 June 2018

School calendar: 2018-2019

Autumn
In-service closure: Monday 13 August 2018
Term starts: Tuesday 14 August 2018
Term ends: Friday 5 October 2018
Autumn holidays: Monday 8 October 2018 - Friday 19 October 2018

Winter 
Term starts: Monday 22 October 2018
In-service closure: Monday 12 and Tuesday 13 November 2018
Term ends: Friday 21 December 2018
Christmas holidays: Monday 24 December 2018 - Friday 4 January 2019

Spring 
Term starts: Monday 7 January 2019
Mid-term holidays: Friday 8 and Monday 11 February 2019
Term ends: Friday 29 March 2019
Spring holiday: Monday 1 April 2019 - Friday 12 April 2019

Summer 
Term starts: Monday 15 April 2019
Good Friday holiday: Friday 19 April 2019
May Day holiday: Monday 6 May 2019
In-service closure: Thursday 16 May and Friday 17 May 2019
Term ends: Friday 28 June 2019

Plus one occasional day holiday to be agreed by 30 March 2018

Contact Us

Education and Social Care
Council Office
High Street
Elgin
IV30 1BX

01343 563374

educationandsocialcare@moray.gov.uk

Rate this Page