Cairngorms National Park Authority Election

An election is held every four years to elect five community representatives to serve on the board of the Cairngorms National Park Authority.  One community member will be elected for each of the 5 wards within the national park area. Part of Moray is included within Ward 4 of the National Park Authority area.


If you are interested in becoming a Cairngorms National Park Authority Board member by standing as a candidate in the election, to qualify, you must be:

  • 21 years of age or over,
  • but need not be resident in the Ward for which you wish to stand, nor the Park area generally.

Candidates must complete a nomination paper, which must be subscribed to by 2 electors as proposer and seconder and by 4 other electors living in that electoral ward as assenting to the nomination.  

Ward 4 nomination pack (397kB, PDF)

Nominations must be lodged in person with the Depute Returning Officer, Moray Council, High Street, Elgin IV30 1BX by appointment from Thursday 19 January. All valid nominations must be lodged by the deadline of 4pm on Thursday 16 February 2023.

For an appointment, contact the Elections Office by emailing or the elections helpline on 01343 563334.


Should the ward be contested - all electors registered to vote within the park boundary are eligible to vote and will receive their postal ballot papers from Tuesday 28 February. Completed postal ballot packs must be returned by close of poll at 2pm on Thursday 23 March.

Role of the Board Members

Further information about the Cairngorms National Park Authority, its boundaries and the role of  board members is available their website or by telephoning 01479 873535.

Contact Us

Elections Office
Council Offices
High Street

01343 563334

Rate this Page