Scottish Parliamentary Election 2021

A Scottish Parliamentary election will be held on Thursday 6 May 2021 to elect members (MSPs) to the Scottish Parliament. The last Scottish Parliamentary election was held in May 2016.

About this election

Elections to the Scottish Parliament are carried out using the Additional Member Voting system. This voting system combines the traditional First Past the Post system (FPP) and Proportional Representation (PR).

Moray Council area is covered by the Moray constituency and the Banff & Buchan Coast constituency. A constituency map is available from the Boundary Commission for Scotland here. Moray is part of the Highland and Islands Region.

Voters have two votes in these elections and will be provided with two ballot papers.

  1. The first vote is to elect a person to be their Constituency Member. The person who wins the most votes using the FPP voting system becomes the Constituency Member.
  2. The second vote is to elect Regional representatives. Voters can select a political party or an individual candidate (if there are any standing) for a seat in a Scottish Parliament Region.

There are 7 MSPs for each of the 8 Scottish Parliament Regions. Candidates or parties are elected using a PR voting system and are called 'List' MSPs

Voters use one cross (X) to mark their ballot paper(s). 

Information for voters        Information for candidates 

Statutory Notices

Register to Vote

You can apply to register to vote online please visit The details you will have to provide are your name, address, national insurance number, nationality and age.

Register to Vote

You only need to register once, unless you change your address, name or nationality. You are not registered until you receive confirmation from the electoral registration office about your application.

Postal and proxy voting

If you are away from home or can't get to your polling station on polling day, you can  vote by post or appoint a proxy (someone you trust to vote on your behalf). 

Postal and proxy voting

For postal and proxy applications please contact the Electoral Registration Office on 01224 068400, use the online contact form at or download an application form.

You are not registered as a postal or proxy voter until you receive confirmation from the electoral registration office about your application.

When will I receive my postal vote?

  • First issue of postal votes will be arrive around Thursday 15 - Friday 16 April.  (existing postal voters registered by 23 March)
  • Second issue of postal votes will arrive around Saturday 17 April
  • Third issue of postal votes will arrive around Tuesday 27 April

As soon as you receive your postal vote, please complete it and return without delay. Please bear in mind that Monday 3 May 2021 is a bank holiday and mail services are not operating.
Please see our step by step guide on completing your postal vote

Polling Day

Polling stations will be open across Moray from 7am to 10pm on Thursday 6 May 2021. A list of the current polling places can be found on our dedicated page or by using the online tool - Find my polling station


The counting of the constituency and regional ballot papers will conducted on Friday 7 May in Elgin during the day. The count is not open to the public, candidates and their appointed agents will be able to attend. 


Results of the election will be published on our website from late on Friday 7 May at the conclusion of the count. Please bear in mind that there is both a constituency and regional list ballot paper to count so the count will continue throughout the day.
Please follow our Facebook page ( or Twitter stream ( for live updates during the count.

Other useful information 


Electoral Registration Office (ERO)

For electoral register enquiries, to register to vote, change or amend your addresses or to apply for a postal or proxy vote. Please note the Electoral Registration Officer only deals with electoral register enquiries, amendments and applications to register to vote, applying for a postal or proxy vote.

Electoral Registration Officer (ERO)
Grampian Valuation Joint Board
Woodhill House, Westburn Road, Aberdeen AB16 5GE
01224 068400
Online contact form at for elector register queries and amendments, postal and proxy vote applications

Monday - Thursday - 9am to 5pm, Friday - 9am to 4pm

Moray Election Office

Returning Officer - Denise Whitworth
For information about: elections, dates and notices, candidate nominations, polling places, issues with postal votes not being received, spoilt or lost, ballot papers and how to vote, results or any other election related query:

Elections Office, Moray Council, Council Office, High Street, Elgin, IV30 1BX

Elections helpline: 01343 563334  (do not use this number for enquiries for registering to vote, or applying for proxy or postal votes, see above) (do not use this email address for electoral register queries or application to vote by post or proxy) please contact ERO above

Rate this Page